My Photograph?

Today a friend changed his cover photo on Facebook, and I am angry about it.

Why?  Because the photo is mine.  The friend is tagged in the picture and had access to it through my albums, but he didn’t ask to use it.

Given that several other people have used my photos for their own profile pictures without asking my permission (at which I was pleased), and that I’ve given permission for this and other photos in the set to be used in promotional material, why do I have my proverbial knickers in a twist over this particular cover photo?

I don’t know.  It’s the friend’s personal page?  I’ve grown more attune to how copyright can be infringed?

The photo in question isn’t under a Creative Commons license; it is in a Facebook album on my personal page with the permissions set to specific people.  In fact, I’m not sure what the licensing is!  (Note to self: read user agreements!)  Normally, when a photo is shared, Facebook links it back to the original poster – the user interface makes sure credit is given where credit is due.  Not so with cover photos or profile pictures.

Obviously, if I wanted to be fastidious about it, I’d ask all my friends to give me photo credit for each shot they use, especially if that shot is publicly visible.  The drawback is that policing usage would zap my time and energy.

I’m not sure what to say or not to say about the cover photo.  Add being confused to being hurt and angry.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

